Learning from the Mushroom Swing

image

I’m learning a lot about my own flexibility and agility by watching my 4yo boy acquire confidence on several apparatuses that we don’t have at home. During the past month, Dylan has learned to conquer the mushroom swing. His progress inspires me.

He swings backwards and side to side, challenged to pick up different coloured bean bags from the floor. He has to hold on as the wobbly swing moves sideways and backwards. Its very design made him uncomfortable at first but during the past month, both his self-confidence and agility have improved markedly. In Dylan’s case, the mushroom swing challenges his arm and hand strength. If I were on the apparatus, I’m sure my abdominal region would feel the effects of the training session as a lunged to grab the brightly coloured bean bags with the random rotations of the mushroom swing.

Leave a Reply

